Skip to product information
1 of 5

Harper Collins

Milloo's Mind | The Story of Maryam Faruqi, Trailblazer for Women's Education

Milloo's Mind | The Story of Maryam Faruqi, Trailblazer for Women's Education

Regular price $17.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $17.99 USD
Sale Sold out

Maryam was a trailblazer for women’s education and the author is her granddaughter, creating a personal, inspiring tale. Perfect for fans of Malala’s Magic Pencil and She Persisted!

Milloo lives in a time when school is considered unnecessary for girls. But to Milloo, education is essential.

When Milloo reads, her thoughts dance. Milloo courageously dreams of becoming a teacher, but in fifth grade her parents tell her she has had enough school. Milloo is heartbroken but finds a way to achieve her educational goals, graduating high school and college with honors. When she’s married, Milloo’s husband tells her to stay home, but she does not let that stop her.

She decides to open a school in her house and later opens more schools around Karachi, Pakistan, fulfilling her dreams.

From the author of Lailah’s Lunchbox and Unsettled comes a powerful picture book biography about Maryam Faruqi, the founder of the Happy Home Schools, which provided education to thousands of girls across Pakistan at a time when girls weren't encouraged to go to school.

"Powerful prose underscores Milloo’s determination and the importance of gender equity in education. The detailed art invites readers to linger over each page, poring over collaged outfits and patterns, all of which evoke a strong sense of place." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review) 

  • Harcover with Dust Jacket
  • Length: 40 pages
  • Author: Reem Faruqi
  • ISBN13: 9780063056619
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Ages: 4-8 years
        View full details

        Customer Reviews

        Be the first to write a review
        0%
        (0)
        0%
        (0)
        0%
        (0)
        0%
        (0)
        0%
        (0)